top of page

Obsession

Obsession - someone or something that makes me think about constantly and frequently

To represent what I have seen through the peephole. I put the peephole into the lens, then transform the shape such like pupils.

  • The pupils provided my imagination and reflect my eyes.

It is normal for the human to fear the darkness, usually not fear of darkness itself. Instead, the fear directs to fear of possible dangers concealed by darkness. How about under the light? It may be most

horrible. If someone asks me there any routine actions that make me uncomfortable after I’ve seen them going away in a piece of media I think the answer is the peephole. I scared this design, but this also charismatic and dreadful. Because you can pry into other people secretly.

Peephole is a strange design, everything will transform be a circle when you look through of the peephole. Sometimes I feel disturbed when I looking through the peephole in the door. Although this designation is for protection, it also initiation the agitated feeling and stress.

I look forward something happens behind the door, I dreamed there’s something unknown outside my front door. It’s been standing there for hours. It just stood there waiting. Despondingly, there ' s nothing there , I am just imagining it. However, through of the peephole, I discovered that when I look through the peephole for a long time, I gradually to suspicion, distrust, self-doubt and paranoia of others, themselves and the world. While it is normal for me to fear the unknown, I do not fear the unknown itself. Instead,I am in fear of which generated from my imagination.

I give it a name of my final work - Obsession. There's someone or something that makes me think about constantly and frequently. I put the peephole in the lens and changed the shape. It represents pupils. The process of evolution and imagine are interesting. From a simple pupils image to a complex development, it is reflected my mental of the illusion and phantom. Through the lens with the peephole to representation what I have been seen and how erratic of my subconscious.

Obsession, 2016

Glossy photo paper


bottom of page