top of page

An endless journey

An endless journey- is the name of my project. This research mainly explored how to build a relationship and connection with the fictional characters in the real world.

My works are developed by the topic"when I was young..." according to a comic book which was influenced in my life. This comic and the content are mainly reflections my growth process in

childhood and adolescence period.

NARUTO- is a Japanese comic book series written and illustrated by Masashi Kishimoto. It tells the story of Naruto Uzumaki, an adolescent ninja who constantly searches for recognition and dreams to become the leader of the world.

The comic story - NARUTO is through of three main characters to exploration, expression, and reflection on some issue. For example, philosophy, attitude on being a human, what is righteousness and the how to build a relationship with people. The protagonist through of his strong and the unique perseverance personality to influence my thoughts. I followed him for more than 10 years. I discovered that this comic story and the characters were supporting my daily life cause I want to close to each other's distance. I understand the characters was fictional so I take advantage of 'Costume-play' to satisfy my idea.

(photo reference by wiki, Naruto)

10 years old was started to enter in puberty. This was a very important period in the life since the

children were easy to rebellion. Actually, I'm capricious and rebellious when I was 11 years old. Started studying in secondary school, no friends in school. It was lonely and confusing. Poor housing environment and the bad relationship with family members have deeply affected my sentiment. Fortunately, at that moment I read this comic book, I met the characters Naruto Uzumaki. Since of Naruto, he makes me more peaceful. when I was young, I also thought that I would exist in the dark side, but fortunately, Naruto this character also led me to the sunny world . He such like a friend and encourage me every moment.

'Costume-play' provide a platform for me to build a close connection with the characters. This is not

same as follow or worship an idol. This activity needs to combine the character's personality and

representation by body motion. By the role of imitation to express the feeling of loyalty and

appreciation.

Personally to imitate the characters over 10 years, I usually walk into different nature area to discover the suitable places for imitation. Through the similar living environment (comic Worldview)and my handmade costume to explore the connection and relation with the characters. Different time and season affect the mood and mentality. I'm still willing and serious to imitation even other

people pointing out that this is a meaningless action and asking for trouble.

This activity is of great significance to me. Including my growth procession and my creation

development. This kind of repetition, I think is a happy process, because you seem to be more and

more intimate with the relationship between the character, every time you go back the place to

make you more familiar with them. These experiences make me feel that the creation does not

have to indicate a big concept or performance of what to do. I also put more and more light. Purely

to achieve my fantasy imagination. Wandering between reality and illusion. This exploration has

become my spiritual sustenance.


bottom of page